Belgium and its Guitar

Well, for a pretty small nation known famously for its amazing chocolates, it also produced a pretty damn good Eurovision entry back in 2010. The young male singer Tom Dice performed a lovely ballad ‘Me and My Guitar’. The performance was very simple but effective, resulting in a great 6th place (and indeed winning the semi final). It’s quite softly sung, but the class of the whole piece really showed.

I have been a fan of quite a few of the recent Belgian entries; 2012 and 2013 were enjoyable and I do have a special mention for the 2006 entrant Kate Ryan. Her infectious and happy pop song ‘Je T’Adore’ really stood out for me. In fact it was one of the first Eurovision songs that I remember being obsessed with at the time (I only got into Eurovision that year really). So, I am going to put the video on here for old time’s sake. Enjoy!

So, for the 2014 contest, Belgium have chosen the singer Axel Hirsoux with a song entitled ‘Mother’. It seems a pleasant and very well sung affair, but lacking the wow factor for me.

 

 

Leave a comment